Daddy-O and fashion

I usually don’t take chances when it comes to what Oz wears. This week, before leaving Oz in Dublin, I had prepped his outfits so his dad wouldn’t do any fashion faux pas — granted, this is not the 80’s but, I would like to avoid any situation where my boy is dressed like a scarecrow with mismatched patterns and such. 

But today, of all days, my husband decided to go rogue (we’ll sort of). See our text exchange:

  
He got Oz to wear a cricket jumper on top of a (warm, almost fleece like, shirt). Now, if the jumper had been off white without the patten at the v-neck, yes. But like this? Nope. All Oscar is missing is a flat cap and we can pretend he’s a 90 years old farmer who is really to go and get mucky in the fields (maybe not quite, after all he’s not wearing green corduroy trousers). 

I’ve known for a while that leaving the husband to dress the little one was akin to playing a fashion Russian roulette. 1 chance out of 5 that it’ll turn out to be controversial. Like the day he got Oz to wear his romper AND short jeans dungarees. Because, why not?!

90% of Oscar’s clothes can mix and match nicely – that the joy/curse of boy clothes. There’s hardly anything exciting about boys fashion. Sure, for little girls you’ll have a fabulous range of skirt, dresses, trousers, tops etc. For any occasion and all year round too. For boys? Not so much. If you want a smart shirt/trousers you’d better stock up on all the sizes around Christmas/June otherwise you’ll be s&hit out of luck! It’s like boys are not meant to look smart. But I digress.

So yeah, at home you can pick most shirts/bottom and it’ll be perfect. But when travelling, I tend to take specific outfits see? Where that shirt goes with that pair of trousers. 

One thing I’ve also noticed is that Junior has grown taller. His 12-18 months trousers are starting to give him that “I’m off to waddle in the pond next door to catch frogs and I don’t need to roll my trousers’ legs!”.

Roll on a new wardrobe age 18-24 months šŸ˜†

Leave a comment